The regulations regarding these plants are the same as for category 1, except that plants already in existence at the time of the commencement of these regulations are exempt, unless they occur within 30 metres of a 1:50 year flood line of river, stream etc.

Declared Weeds & Alien Invader Plants – Category 3

Acacia baileyana F.Muell. Bailey’s wattle Invader
Acacia elata A.Cunn. ex Benth. Pepper tree wattle Invader
Acacia podalyriifolia A.Cunn. Pearl acacia Invader
Ailanthus altissima (Mill.) Swingle Tree – of – heaven Invader
Atriplex lindleyi Moq. Subsp. inflata Sponge – fruit saltbush Invader
Bauhinia purpurea L. Butterfly orchid tree Invader
Bauhinia variegata L. Orchid tree Invader
Cotoneaster franchetii Boiss. Cotoneaster Invader
Cotoneaster pannosus Franch. Silver – leaf cotoneaster Invader
Eriobotrya japonica (Thunb.) Lindl. Loquat Invader
Grevillea robusta A.Cunn. ex R.Br. Australian silky oak Invader
Ipomoea purpurea (L.) Roth Morning glory Invader
Jacaranda mimosifolia D.Don Jacaranda Invader (Excluding sterile cultivar “Alba”)
Ligustrum japonicum Thunb. Japanese wax – leaved privet Invader
Ligustrum lucidum Aiton Chinese wax – leaved privet Invader (Only for use as root-stock if authorised by the Executive official in terms of regulation 15C(5))
Ligustrum ovalifolium Hassk. Californian privet Invader
Ligustrum sinense Lour. Chinese privet Invader
Ligustrum vulgare L. Common privet Invader
Lilium formosanum A. Wallace St Joseph’s lily, Trumpet lily Invader
Melia azedarach L. Syringa, Persian lilac Invader
Metrosideros excelsa Sol. ex Gaertn. New Zealand christmas tree Invader
Mimosa pigra L . Giant sensitive plant Invader
Morus alba L. White or common mulberry Invader (Excluding cultivar “Pendula”, and only for use as root-stock if authorised by the Executive official in terms of regulation 15C(5))
Myoporum tenuifolium G.Forst. Manatoka Invader
Nephrolepis exaltata (L.) Schott Sword fern Invader (Excluding cultivars)
Phytolacca dioica L. Belhambra Invader
Plectranthus comosus Sims ‘Abyssinian’ coleus Invader
Pontederia cordata L. Pickerel weed Invader
Psidium cattleianum Sabine Strawberry guava Invader
Psidium guineense Sw. Brazilian guava Invader
Pyracantha angustifolia (Franch.) Yellow firethorn Invader (Excluding cultivars)
Pyracantha crenulata (D.Don) Himalayan firethorn Invader
Senna bicapsularis (L.) Roxb. Rambling cassia Invader
Senna didymobotrya (Fresen.) lrwin Peanut butter cassia Invader
Senna pendula (Willd.) Irwin Invader
Syzygium cumini (L.) Skeels Jambolan Invader
Syzygium jambos (L.) Alston Rose apple Invader
Tipuana tipu (Benth.) Kuntze Tipu tree Invader
Toona ciliata M.Roem. Toon tree Invader

These lists have been compiled from the information published in R.280 in the Government Gazette Vol 429: No 22166 of the 30 March 2001. R280 contains amendments to the regulations pertaining to the Conservation of Agricultural Resources Act no 43 of 1983. For more information regarding these regulations, please see the Government Gazette (available from the Government Printer: Pretoria or Cape Town).